NSCA Launches 2010 Safety Excellence Awards

Source: Safety Concepts

The National Safety Awards of Excellence has been launched for 2010.

The awards are a joint initiative by the National Safety Council of Australia and GIO. They are designed to celebrate Australian innovative safety solutions, best practice OHS and safety communication in the workplace.

The key objectives of the awards are to recognise high standards of safety by Australian organisations and individuals, promote OHS excellence and increase awareness of the Safety Council's commitment to safety.

People or organisations can nominate under six categories:

  1. Best Implementation of a Specific OHS Management System
  2. Best solution of a OHS Workplace Risk
  3. Best OHS Training Program
  4. Best Communication of a Safety Message
  5. Excellence in Innovative Environmentally Sustainable Work Practices
  6. Business Excellence through OHS Management

Previous winners of the awards came from companies such as CGU Insurance, Railcorp, Queensland Department of Public Works and Bluescope Steel.

Each winner of the six categories is automatically in the running for the annual Award for Excellence in OHS which is the pinnacle for the award program and seen as an ultimate recognition for workplace safety.

Nominations for the awards are open till 2 July 2010. If you are interested in entering the 2010 Awards visit the Safety Excellence Awards Entry page.