New chair appointed for NSW mine safety council

Source: Safe to Work


The NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council (MSAC) has appointed John Hannaford as its new chairman.

The Council provides advice to the state minister for resources and energy regarding work health and safety in the mining industry.

It is made up of a number of senior officials from industry bodies such as the CFMEU, Australian Workers' Union, the NSW Minerals Council, and Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia.

MSAC has led a number of initiatives to improve safety on site, such as driver safety workshops and conducts a funding scheme known as the Mudgee Community Grants program.

The grant program sees schools and community groups in Mudgee could receive up to $2000 for identifying their own health and safety challenges.

The initiative is part of a move to promote OHS in local mining communities, and to help bridge the gap in health and safety between the workplace and home.

Prior to taking on the role, Hannaford served as the Leader of the House in the NSW State Parliament.

He steps into the role following the death of the previous chair, Norman Jennings, late last year.

Jennings had held the role since 2006.